Residence Hall Schedule

Important Dates for the 2015-16 Academic Year

The table below lists some important dates that you should know.  Note that official notification of when the residence halls open for new, incoming students will be shared in the assignment letter or email they will receive from the Office of Residence Life. Current residents will consistently receive information from their community advisors on floor and residence director.

The 2015-16 academic calendar has a number of changes precipitated by the Labor Day holiday (Sept. 7), which is the latest date it will ever appear on the calendar.

Classes will begin the week before Labor Day on Monday, Aug. 31. Classes will be held continuously until the fall break, with classes scheduled to be held on Labor Day. Because the university will be open on Labor Day, there will be a day added to the fall break, providing a four-day weekend Oct. 10-13.

Please be sure to review all dates and times and plan travel arrangements accordingly.

For more specific academic details, please see the academic calendar: http://www.niagara.edu/academic-calendars/

Friday, August 28

Residence Halls open at a.m. for new student check-in according to move-in times reflected in the student's personal letter received from the Office of Residence Life

Sunday, August 30

Residence Halls open at 10 a.m. for returning student check-in

Monday, August 31

First day of classes for Fall Semester

Monday, October 12-Tuesday, October 13

Fall Break (Columbus Day Holiday)

Wednesday, November 25

Residence Halls close at 10 a.m. for Thanksgiving Break. Students can apply for break housing via email at residencelife@niagara.edu. Information about specifics regarding hall closing will be given to students through their CAs and RD

Sunday, November 29

Residence Halls reopen at 12 p.m.

Tuesday, December 8

Last day of classes for Fall Semester

Thursday, December 10

Final Exam week begins

Tuesday, December 15

Fall Semester/Exams end

Wednesday, December 16

Residence Halls close at 10 a.m. for Semester Break. Students can apply for break housing via email at residencelife@niagara.edu. Information about specifics regarding hall closing will be given to students through their CAs and RD. Students should vacate their residence hall 24 hours after their last final exam or by closing time, whichever is earlier.

Sunday, January 17

Residence Halls reopen at 12 p.m.

Monday, January 18

Martin Luther King Jr. Day-No Classes

Tuesday, January 19

First Day of Classes for Spring Semester

Saturday, February 27

Residence Halls close at 10 a.m. for Spring Break. Students can apply for break housing via email at residencelife@niagara.edu.  Information about specific regarding hall closing will be given to students through their CAs and RD.

Sunday, March 6

Residence Halls reopen at 12 p.m.

Thursday, March 24

Residence Halls close at 10 a.m. for Easter Break

Monday, March 28

Residence Halls reopen at 12 p.m.

Monday, May 2

Last day of classes for Spring Semester

Wednesday, May 4

Final Exam Week Begins

Tuesday, May 10

Spring Semester/Exams end

Wednesday, May 11

Residence Halls close at 10 a.m. for summer for all non-graduating seniors

Sunday, May 15

Residence Halls close at 10 a.m. for all graduating seniors