Honor Society

Sigma Theta Tau LogoSigma Theta Tau

January 2003 marked the change in Gamma Theta Chapter from a College of Nursing to an Alumni Chapter. The Board of Directors is working closely with International to facilitate a smooth transition.

History at Niagara

The impetus for striving to become a Sigma Theta Tau Chapter came from Sr. Bernadette Armiger, D.C., Ph.D., who was dean of the College of Nursing from 1968-1974. She and two faculty moderators, Mary Kornguth, MS, and Frances Wollner, MSN, established the Nursing Honor Society at Niagara University in 1975. One of the organization’s main goals was to become a chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society Of Nursing.

To be eligible for membership in Sigma Theta Tau, Niagara’s College of Nursing was required to develop and maintain, over a two-year period, an honor society, which would reflect the traits and the character of the national organization.

At the Sigma Theta Tau International Convention in October 1977, the House of Delegates voted to approve Niagara University College of Nursing’s request for membership.

Sigma Theta Tau International granted a charter to the nursing honor society at Niagara University on March 4, 1978. The installing officer was Rebecca Markel, MS, second vice president, Sigma Theta Tau International.

Gamma Theta Chapter is No. 78. Today, there are 424 chapters located in various college and university campuses in the United States, Canada, China, Pakistan, South Korea, Australia, Taiwan, Brazil and the Netherlands.

Six nursing students who had a vision for nursing and recognized the need to promote nursing scholarship founded Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society at Indiana University in 1922. Today, there are more than 120,000 active members of Sigma Theta Tau International throughout the world!

Sr. Aloise Anne Zasowska, C.S.S.F., Ed.D., became dean of the College of Nursing in 1975. She supported the members of the Nursing Honor Society in their efforts to become a chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International.

On March 4, 1978, Sr. Aloise Anne Zasowska and 12 faculty members of the College of Nursing were among the 75 Charter members inducted. These faculty members included Sr. Mary Balthasar, Jean Borgatti, Patricia Burns, Margaret Corcoran, Mary Ruth Finn, Pearl Gessner, Margaret Harrup, Mary Kornguth, Mary Lorich, Adele Pillitteri, Flora Taylor and Frances Wollner. Sr. Bernadette Armiger was already a member of another chapter. She was living out of town and was unable to attend the chartering ceremony.