NU Chapter of Philosophy Honor Society Inducts New Members

November 7, 2011

Niagara University's chapter of the Phi Sigma Tau International Honor Society in Philosophy held its annual induction ceremony Nov. 1, 2011. All photos courtesy of Anna Hoffmann, '12.

Phi Sigma Tau, the International Honor Society in Philosophy, inducted 12 new members into Niagara University's Omega chapter during a ceremony held Nov. 1, 2011.

Following a welcome by Sebastian Galbo, '12, vice president of Niagara's chapter of the society, discourses on the importance of philosophy were given by William Rinaldi, '12, Philosophy Club president and chapter member, and Dr. John Keller, assistant professor of philosophy and club moderator.

The following students were initiated into Phi Sigma Tau by the chapter's current officers:

  • Andrew John Adolf, '13
  • Christina Marie Antonelli, '12
  • Mary Elizabeth Boatman, '12
  • Emily Ann Kaufman, '12
  • Hilary Elizabeth King, '12
  • Brenna E. Pierson, '13
  • Liane Margaret Schneller, '12
  • Leo Rue Schultz, '14
  • Gabriel R. Sorrentino, '13
  • Amber Vesey, '13
  • Adam Robert Wagner, '12
  • Erin Elizabeth Weber, '12

Founded in 1930 and incorporated as a nonprofit corporation in 1955, the society now has a network of over 200 chapters throughout the United States and Canada, at both public and private institutions of higher learning. The purpose of Phi Sigma Tau is to encourage interest and activity among students and to promote ties between philosophy departments in accredited institutions.

Niagara University installed its chapter of Phi Sigma Tau and inducted its first members in October 2007.