Honor Society

Sigma Tau Delta

Each year, Niagara University's Alpha Alpha Beta chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society, allows members opportunities to share their love of literature and to get to know their professors and their fellow English majors better outside of the classroom. The advisor for Sigma Tau Delta is Dr. Paula Kot.

Membership Qualifications

In order to qualify for membership, students must:

  • Have at least a 3.25 average in English.
  • Have completed at least three English courses other than English 100.
  • Have completed at least three semesters of college work; at least two of those semesters must be at Niagara University.
  • Be in the top 35 percent of their graduating class  (to be in the top 35 percent of your class at NU, a student must have approximately a 3.1 overall GPA).

Membership applications will be available during the spring semester.

Current Members

Congratulations to our 2018 inductees, who were inducted by Dr. Kot, Dr. Carr, and Dr. Collington as part of a departmental dinner at the Como Restaurant on Thursday, April 12. We are proud of your accomplishments!

std18 68

Past Inductions

Spring 2015 Induction Ceremony

The 2015 induction ceremony for the English Honor Society was held Friday, April 17, at 4 p.m. in the Heritage Room. Congratulations to our new inductees!

IMG 1291

Spring 2014 Induction Ceremony

The induction ceremony for the English Honor Society was held Friday, April 11, at 4:30 p.m. in St. Vincent's Hall, Rooms 405/406. Congratulations to Shawna Bentz, Brittney Bartlett, Ashley Marie DeMar, Kathryn Dickie, Edward Fronczak, Michaela George, Jacob Honan, Addison Marino, Makayla Olden, Kristin Rivers, Andrea Scibetta, and Jessica Tobin!

Spring 2014 Sigma Tau Delta Inductees Group Picture

Spring 2014 Inductees!

2013 Induction  

The 2013 Induction Ceremony for Sigma Tau Delta was held on  April 16 at 7 p.m. in Bisgrove 350  and featured a poetry reading by the English Department's Dr. Chad Parmenter.  

Fall 2011 Induction

Picture of Fall 2011 Sigma Tau Delta inductees.

Our fall 2011 inductees!

The English Department's chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, welcomed new initiates on Wednesday, Nov. 16, 2011, in Bisgrove Hall, Room 350. New members to to our Alpha Alpha Beta Chapter are:

  • Jessica Batchelor
  • Michael Brophy  
  • Jocelyn Crosland  
  • Nicolette Fadel  
  • Alexandra Grab  
  • Jordan Hernandez  
  • Chelsea Hewitt  
  • Molly Hyland  
  • Brigid Kelsey  
  • Kelsey McGinty  
  • Shelby Murek  
  • Hannah Owczarczak  
  • Allison Radley  
  • William Victor
  • Jacob Vivian  
  • Bridget Weber

Dr. Laurel gave another excellent speech entitled "Three Revolutions," which is now available for you to read.

Our 2011 Sigma Tau Delta inductees

Our spring 2011 Sigma Tau Delta inductees!

On March 30, 2011, many new  students were inducted  into Niagara's chapter of Sigma Tau Delta. A copy of Dr. Laurel's excellent speech entitled "Why English?" is available for you to read.