Beta Alpha Psi

IMG 5812 2

Beta Alpha Psi is an international honorary and service organization for accounting, finance and information systems students. Niagara's chapter Lamba Chi was established in 2007. The primary objective of Beta Alpha Psi is to encourage and give recognition to scholastic and professional excellence in the business information field. This includes promoting the study and practice of accounting, finance and information systems; providing opportunities for development of technical and professional skills, participation in community service and interaction among students, faculty and professionals. The minimum GPA required is 3.25.

For information on membership, please contact the moderator, Dr. Hai Ta, Assistant Professor of Accounting or reach by phone at 716.286.8175.

Beta Gamma Sigma

IMG 5817 2

Beta Gamma Sigma is the honor society for students enrolled in collegiate business programs at schools accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Niagara's chapter was established in 2005.  The mission of Beta Gamma Sigma is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business and to foster personal and professional excellence among its members. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International. Each spring, inductees are selected from the top 20 percent of MBA graduates, 10 percent of graduating seniors and 7 percent of second semester juniors. 

For membership information, please contact Dr. Ann Rensel, Associate Professor of Management or reach by phone at 716.286.8312.

The Everett W. Ockerman Awards

Management students
Management students 2021

The Everett W. Ockerman Awards acknowledge all graduating senior students within the College of Business Administration who have exhibited academic excellence. The faculty also chooses the top student in each of the majors of accounting, economics, finance, management and marketing for special recognition. The overall minimum GPA required is 3.5.

The Ockerman Awards are named for Dr. Everett W. Ockerman, former Chairman of the Department of Commerce. Dr. Ockerman joined the Niagara faculty in 1946. He served as head of the department from September 1953 until his retirement in May of 1975.

The Lt. Lynch Memorial Award

The Lt. Lynch Memorial Award is given for excellence in philosophy to a student studying in Niagara's College of Business Administration. It is presented in Memory of Lt. John R. Lynch, ’55. The gift of Friends.

Omicron Delta Epsilon

IMG 5810 2

Omicron Delta Epsilon is the international honor society for economics. Niagara's chapter, Beta Epsilon was established in 1986. Students do not have to be economics majors, but must have a genuine interest in economics in addition to meeting the academic requirements including a 3.0 overall GPA and 12 credit hours in economic courses with a minimum GPA of 3.0 in those courses.

Interested students should please contact Dr. Kris Principe, Associate Professor of Economics for more information, or reach by phone at 716.286.8180.