Awards & Honor Society


The History Department honors several students each year for excellence. These awards are:

I. Frank Mogavero History Award. Awarded each year by the Department of History faculty to the graduating History or Social Studies major who best exemplifies a love for History and scholastic excellence in the Discipline.

Richard J. Danilowicz Service Award. Awarded to the student whose service has most benefited Phi Alpha Theta, the National Honor Society for History, and Alpha Delta Iota, its Niagara University chapter, which Professor Danilowicz served for two decades as moderator.

Donald F. Peters Teaching Award. Awarded to the Social Studies Education major who best exemplifies Professor Peters’ combination of dedication to the discipline of History with exceptional commitment to teaching.

McGourty History Award. Awarded to the student whose love of History and commitment to lifelong learning reflects the example of Rev. Thomas P. McGourty, C.M., who enriched our classes by his presence.

Honor Society

Membership in Alpha Delta Iota, Niagara University’s chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national honor society, is open to students whose scholarly achievements meet the stringent criteria for admission. The society’s mission is to promote the study of history and to create a space for intellectual exchange among students and faculty members.

History Forum

Students in the history/social studies program can participate in the History Forum, a student organization which provides an opportunity for students to discuss historic topics, sponsor speakers, organize field trips to historic sites and meet informally with fellow students.