Albert the Great Lecture

The Albertus Magnus Lecture is an annual lecture presented by the Niagara University philosophy department.  

Albertus Magnus

Albertus Magnus ("Albert the Great") was born in Swabia in 1200. He studied at the University of Padua and entered the Dominican Order in 1223. In 1245, he became the first German to be appointed to the faculty of the University of Paris. While an important philosopher in his own right, he is most famous for the influence he had as the instructor of St. Thomas Aquinas, the cornerstone of the Catholic Intellectual tradition. The lecture is named for Albertus Magnus because of his great influence as a teacher upon his students.

Dr. John Heiser

Dr. Heiser taught in the philosophy department at Niagara University from 1978-1996. He specialized in Early Medieval Philosophy and Plotinus. He endowed a lecture series at Niagara, which was designed to bring in specialists from other universities to expand the philosophical conversation at Niagara and to help the students of Niagara seek meaning and understanding.

The Lecture Series

  • 2022-23: Dr. Timothy Pawl, University of Saint Thomas
  • 2021-22: Dr. Lisa Guenther, Queens University
  • 2019-20: Dr. Benjamin Lennertz, Colgate University
  • 2018-19: Dr. Carole Talon Hugon, University of Nice
  • 2017-18: Dr. Brian Cutter, University of Notre Dame
  • 2016-17: Dr. Christopher Tollefsen, University of South Carolina
  • 2015-16: Dr. Katherin Rogers, University of Delaware
  • 2014-15: Dr. Philip Reed, Canisius College
  • 2013-14: Dr. Meghan Sullivan, University of Notre Dame
  • 2012-13: Dr. James Hebbeler, St. Joseph's University
  • 2011-12: Dr. Peter van Inwagen, University of Notre Dame
  • 2010-11: Fr. Ronald McKinney, S. J., University of Scranton
  • 2009-10: Dr. Johnathan Sanford, Franciscan University of Steubenville
  • 2008-09: Dr. John Zeis, Canisius College
  • 2007-08: Dr. Alexander Pruss, Baylor University.
  • 2006-07: Dr. David Hershenov, SUNY at Buffalo
  • 2005-06: Dr. Patrick Tully, University of Scranton
  • 2004-05: Dr. Patrick Lee, Franciscan University