Academic Concentration

New York state requires that students in teacher preparation programs pursue an academic concentration of study. Education majors take a minimum of 12 courses (36 credit hours) and choose from one the following content areas:

  • English language arts
  • Mathematics
  • Social studies
  • Spanish
  • French

Liberal arts (for B-6, special education & 1-6 and TESOL programs only).